HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > her2group
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 11-05-2005, 01:22 AM   #1
skoolmom

Masectomy vs. Lumpectomy?

I'm newly diagnosed Oct. 26, I'm ER/PR neg. and Her2 -3t positive, infiltrating ductal type, poorly differentiated. I have two lumps only the bigger one was tested and it measured on the ultra sound 6mm by 7mm. I'm seeing a 2nd surgeon this Tues. I want to schedule surgery with him on Tues. to be done ASAP - I want those babies out of there! What should I do - Lumpectomy or Masectomy- what have most of you done? My mother died 16 yrs. ago of breast cancer and she had a double masectomy. I was thinking that maybe I should get a lumpectomy and do herceptin and hope and pray I'm one of the lucky 52 % that do not have a recurrance. Did everyone who has Her2 - 3t also have to get chemo and radiation? I'm still learning about all of this! I also have a good friend who also has breast cancer except she was er/pr positive and Her2 negative and she's going through chemo right now.
skoolmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 03:01 AM   #2
jhandley

decision

Hi
If I had my time over I would have a mastectomy. I had a lumpdectomy and then recurred 4.5 yr later...different spot in the breast and second time it was not detected by mammo. or ultrasound (25% of lumps in women between 40 and 49 are not) and was 4 cm. I now have a single met to the liver 1.5 cm and wonder if I had insisted on the breast off to start with (which is what I wanted) whether I would be in this situation now.
I know the research shows that either gives the same odds but peace of mind is not factored into that and it means a lot.

regards
Jackie
jhandley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 03:19 AM   #3
RhondaH

Welcome