HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > her2group
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 01-17-2005, 02:41 PM   #1
mkiley

Hello, this is my first time on this forum. I was diagnosed with probable inflammatory breast cancer in June 2002. ER/PR+ and HER2+++.
Had 2 rounds of CAF when we found bone mets. Switched to femara/zometa/zoladex....stable for over 2 years.....now some bone progression, so time to change to new hormonal....aromasin or faslodex......any thoughts on whether to add herceptin at this time?
Thank you!!!!!!!!!! Mary Anne
Old 01-17-2005, 04:01 PM   #2
Ron, Cyndi's Husband

Mkiley,

With progression beyond the breast, it is now Metastatic Breast Cancer, and should qualify you for more aggressive treatment protocol. Stage IV, HER2, MBC is what Herceptin was designed for. I do not understand why an Onc. would not make that a priority choice. Perhaps there are issues I do not know about, but I think now is the time to begin getting pushy with the Doc. at least get a second opinion!

God Bless You,
ron
Old 01-17-2005, 04:58 PM   #3
Sandy H.

Welcome to our board! You will find a great group of caring, proactive and knowdgeable people. Each person is unque and you will find a great wealth of valuable information. I think Ron is right on target by saying now is the time to get aggressive. Usually, Herceptin is added following a recurrence. I am sure others will be posting. Good luck to you, hugs, Sandy
Old 01-17-2005, 05:32 PM   #4
Lyn