PDA

View Full Version : Help needed in understanding my pathology report

meglove
11-01-2010, 10:38 AM
Dear all,
the nurse just faxed me my pathology report after bilateral mastectomy. Forgot to ask for a copy when left surgeon as they were running late and super busy that day.
I noticed in the diagnosis section, there is statement as follows:
A:Granulomatous and chronic inflammation and fibrosis
B: multiple residula foci of mucinous carcinoma (had lumpectomy before bilateral mastecotomy.
C: extensive intraductal carcinoma component (intermediate nuclear grade)

What kind of invasive cancer do I have: IBC or mucinous?
What is the grade for mucinous carcinoma?
Is the DCIS grade 2?

Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome. I am waiting to see an onc next. Do not who yet.

Thank you so much!

Meg

ElaineM
11-01-2010, 11:28 AM
I am not an expert, but it sounds like you have a combination of things going on. It is amazing that you have had a tumor since you were 15 without treatment so far. If you are triple positive your doctor will offer some kind of therapy for that.
Take good care of yourself.

ElaineM
11-01-2010, 11:34 AM
Triple positive usually means her2, estrogen and progesterone positive. That means all three contributed to the tumor growth.
Take care.

Laurel
11-01-2010, 07:05 PM
Meglove,