HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > her2group
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 04-06-2006, 12:29 PM   #1
Leslie S

Question Do you need Flaxseed and Fish Oil?

Hi,
For those more know knowledgeable than me on the Omega 3 topic, maybe you could give me your opinions. I am estrogen and progesterin negative so I don't worry about the phyto- estrogen aspect. I currently grind 2 TBS of flaxseed daily and just drink it down mixed in water, with a straw. I do not take any type of Fish Oil. My question is do I need both Flaxseed and Fish Oil or is just the Flaxseed enough?
Thanks for your opinions.
Leslie
Leslie S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 02:35 PM   #2
R.B.

I am not an expert. There are no absolute answers.

I have read fairly widely.

If you have not looked at the posts on flaxseed on this site that would be a good starting point. (search engine top right above type in flaxseed). There is debate as to whether flax seed is good or bad in terms of phto estrogens but there are cogent arguments that it is benificial. The arguments links etc are contained in the psots on this site. These arguments realte to flax and cannot be generalised to soy.

There is a link on articles of interest the importance of omega three and six to breast cancer which is good background reading. Print it out and go back to it when you need to. It does not matter if you only get the gist at the start you will find you go back to it.