PDA

View Full Version : When to add herceptin with hormonal?

mkiley
01-17-2005, 02:41 PM
Hello, this is my first time on this forum. I was diagnosed with probable inflammatory breast cancer in June 2002. ER/PR+ and HER2+++.
Had 2 rounds of CAF when we found bone mets. Switched to femara/zometa/zoladex....stable for over 2 years.....now some bone progression, so time to change to new hormonal....aromasin or faslodex......any thoughts on whether to add herceptin at this time?
Thank you!!!!!!!!!! Mary Anne

Ron, Cyndi's Husband
01-17-2005, 04:01 PM
Mkiley,

With progression beyond the breast, it is now Metastatic Breast Cancer, and should qualify you for more aggressive treatment protocol. Stage IV, HER2, MBC is what Herceptin was designed for. I do not understand why an Onc. would not make that a priority choice. Perhaps there are issues I do not know about, but I think now is the time to begin getting pushy with the Doc. at least get a second opinion!

God Bless You,
ron

Sandy H.
01-17-2005, 04:58 PM
Welcome to our board! You will find a great group of caring, proactive and knowdgeable people. Each person is unque and you will find a great wealth of valuable information. I think Ron is right on target by saying now is the time to get aggressive. Usually, Herceptin is added following a recurrence. I am sure others will be posting. Good luck to you, hugs, Sandy

Lyn
01-17-2005, 05:32 PM