HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > Caregivers Corner
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Caregivers Corner Dedicated to those who support their loved ones.

Old 06-03-2021, 03:35 PM   #1
Nguyen

Leaning Into Uncertainty and Discomfort With Hope

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jam...tm_term=060321
Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2021, 01:22 PM   #2
Nguyen

Re: Leaning Into Uncertainty and Discomfort With Hope

jamanetwork.com
Leaning Into Uncertainty and Discomfort With Hope
Evelyn Anthony, MD1; Katherine Files, MBA2; Suzanne C. Danhauer, PhD3
7-9 minutes

Scrolling through the computed tomography (CT) images, I (E.A.) saw the scattered lung nodules, evidence that my husband’s cancer was back. Just 5 years earlier, in 2000, he was diagnosed with chest wall sarcoma. I was a third-year radiology resident at the time and a mother of 2 young children, with a baby on the way. We had been through his original diagnosis of a 10-cm mass, involvement of 4 ribs, negative nodes, and no distant metastases, and he had undergone en bloc surgical resection and 14 months of chemotherapy—and here we were again. The cancer was back.

Over the past 18 months, I’ve recalled this moment many times as uncertainty and anguish—with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, growing attention to racial injustice, and political and ideological polarization—have altered the patterns of our days and the fabric of our communities and country. While these situations certainly carry different weights, they are all characterized by living in a long-term state of stress and heightened awareness, wondering what possibly could unfold next, with much ambiguity and no end in sight.