HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   How do you deal with lung mets? (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=63645)

yanyan 08-24-2015 08:09 AM

How do you deal with lung mets?

I started halaven for skin and lung mets 3 weeks ago. I have been coughing for almost 2 months and after 900ml was drained from my right lung I'm still coughing but it has been a lot better since I was put on one week steroid.

The fliud was tested negative for cancer cells which my Onco described as common. He said many times the fliud is negative but they also look at the protein level which should be less than 3, mine was 3.3 and the ct scan also revealed multiple metastatic foci in lungs.

So the questions are is coughing causes by lung mets or should I expect it gone with effective treatment? Or do you often cough when you have lung mets? 2nd question is does it make any difference whether you have one or multiple nodules? My doctor said no difference. If the chemo works on one, it'll work on all nodules. 3rd question why and when is lung wedge resection or radiation offered?

Finally I am kinda of lost as I seem to be runningn out of options. I have had taxol abraxane xeloda tykerb navelbine Kadcyla gemzar herceptin perjeta although just for skin mets. Kadcyla did take care of the chestwall nodules but not my skin mets. Now this lung mets is new. Is it even possible and worth to revisit those chemo drugs?
Thanks!!

KDR 08-24-2015 08:48 AM

Re: How do you deal with lung mets?

Hi, Yan,
Carboplatin. Ask about that.
And of course, let's see what happens on the other front.
Love,
Karen

yanyan 08-24-2015 08:58 AM