PDA

View Full Version : In Praise of Perjeta

Mtngrl
03-28-2015, 08:31 AM
I started on Perjeta about 13 months ago, and I have not had any new lesions in that time. My personal definition of "stable" is "no new lesions." So I'm pleased.

It does cause diarrhea, which can be challenging and difficult to manage. But otherwise it has been quite tolerable.

jaykay
03-28-2015, 09:19 AM
yea, Amy! Great news

caya
03-28-2015, 10:08 AM
Great to hear Amy - I guess diarrhea is better than the alternative!

all the best
caya

Mtngrl
03-28-2015, 10:28 AM
I posted because I've seen a few members whose doctors express skepticism about Perjeta because it's so "new." It's not just me, the CLEOPATRA trial showed extremely positive results for it.

Kathy T
03-28-2015, 10:52 AM
Amy, I've been receiving Perjeta and Heceptin alone for the past 14 months and have remained stable. 12 years at stage 4 for me! I am so grateful.
Kathy

linzer
03-28-2015, 11:24 AM
Yay! I only had 4 rounds of Perjeta along with Herceptin and Taxol. I had a complete response - yipee! I agree about the diarrhea being challenging. I did find that the L-glutamine I took to prevent taxol neuropathy actually helped a bit with managing the diarrhea too. So glad to hear that Perjeta has had such great benefit for so many of us!

Linda

KDR
03-28-2015, 06:02 PM
Linzer,
Did you take L-glutathione for neuropathy? I wish I'd known about it when I started chemo. I'm taking it now to UNDO damage. Fiver years later.
I have been on and off Perjeta since 2011. I think it's a great drug.
Amy,
Wonderful news you have for us. And soon, I believe, we will ALL have the best news yet: either a vaccine, immunotherapy, et al, to CURE us.

Karen
Who Still Believes In The Cure

linzer
03-29-2015, 07:42 AM
KDR, First off, I love your avatar! I was a huge IDOJ fan when I was a kid :)