PDA

View Full Version : Hyperthermia with radiotherapy

joanna
06-26-2014, 11:27 AM
Hello, everyone!
I found out this website some time ago, but this is my first post here because I'm not skilled in English and I feel a bit ashamed. I'm Italian, I live in Italy and I'm taking care of my sister. She was diagnosed in 2010, and in 2012, she became HER2 positive, Stage IV with bone metastases: she even had a total femur replacement. Last pet and MRI showed that now bone metastases have spread pretty wide, so the oncologist switched her to Xeloda+Tykerb. She will undergo radiotherapy, too, and that is the point. I've read some articles about a treatment called hyperthermia, combined with radiotherapy for a better outcome. I'd like to ask if there's someone who heard about that treatment.
I also would like to say that I'm supporting my sister better thanks to this site, so I'm heartily grateful to its founders and members.

MaineRottweilers
06-26-2014, 07:11 PM
I have no such experience. I just wanted to let you know that you and your sister are in my prayers. I hope someone will weigh in for you with their experience.

....and your English is beautiful. Your grammar is superior to native writers by far. You should be proud to show it off, keep on posting

BrendaB
06-26-2014, 08:13 PM
The doctors were considering hyperthermia plus radiation for me, after the cancer came back. However, due to needing a skin graft on my chest, they decided it wouldn't work to radiate that. Apparently hyperthermia treatments were more common a decade or so ago, and now the machines are too costly to keep going, what with other procedures being done, so a lot of hospitals let them go. The Cancer Treatment Centers in Philadelphia PA and Cleveland Oh still use them, I think. Best of luck to your sister; both of you will be in my prayers.

Jackie07
06-27-2014, 02:56 AM
HI,

Found this abstract from the PubMed Database. You probably can get the full-text article from the clinic/hosp