PDA

View Full Version : Coconut water

bejuce
08-26-2010, 10:37 AM
Does anyone know whether drinking coconut water daily may be beneficial to us? I drank a fair amount of it while on vacation in Brazil (my home country) and have been buying it here at Whole Foods. I'm aware of the high potassium levels, but am concerned about the sugar.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Marcia

ElaineM
08-26-2010, 02:50 PM
My doctor, a runner introduced it to me for the potassium, but I don't know about the sugar.
However, if a person has diarrhea coconut would not be a good idea. I suppose if someone has constipation it might be good. Pacific Islanders told me too much coconut can cause diarrhea.

Rich66
08-27-2010, 06:34 AM
You mean coconut water sweetened with sugar?

bejuce
08-27-2010, 07:33 AM
No, just fresh coconut water out of a coconut or one of the fresh brands sold at Whole Foods like Vita Coco.

lexigirl
08-27-2010, 08:54 PM
Hi bejuce,

I read your post earlier today. I have no knowledge of the coconut water, but I had to run into WalMart and I saw the VitaCoco on the shelf. I am curious to see what it tastes like so I bought some. I'll let you know how I like it after I try some. I thought it might be good for my daughter who is playing hs volleyball now.

Lexi

harrie
08-29-2010, 12:21 AM
Lexi,
From what I have heard about coconut water, it is an excellent souce of replacement of electrolytes for athletes. It is also very low in sugar.
This coconut water is not to be confused with coconut milk which is used for many desserts.
I drink coconut water after workouts sometimes. It has minimal flavor to it. I consider it much better then something like Gatorade which is loaded with sugar.

lexigirl
08-29-2010, 07:42 PM