PDA

View Full Version : Hi Everyone Im a newbie Tykerb & Xeloda

Denise La.
10-05-2007, 09:23 AM
Hi Everyone,
Im a newbie to posting I start tykerb & xeloda on Mon. any info or advice would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to chatting with all of you. Thanks Denise

hutchibk
10-05-2007, 11:00 AM
Hi Denise - from the experiences of some of us who have been on T/X for a few months now:

1. eat as fresh and clean and healthy as possible. Drink lots of water and healthy tea and juice. Steer clear of milk if you are experiencing diarrhea. Exclude sodas, fast food and boxed/bagged junk food and snacks from your diet. It can make the difference between unmanageable diarrhea and preferred "normalcy and regularity". Also, many have experienced great help from yogurt/acidophilous products which help keep the stomach and intestines bacterially balanced. Bentonite clay once a day can also help absorb excess water that is held by the bowel...
2. the first few cycles, keep the kitchen stocked with BRAT diet items as back-up while your body gets used to the T/X combo (Bananas, Rice, Applesauce, Toast). Revert to these items in tandem with immodium as necessary to keep any severe diarrhea under control.
3. Watch for rash. Some people get it worse than others. Mine only lasted about 2 weeks and was limited to dry patches on my cheeks. If you do get a bad rash, there are several options your doctor can use to mitigate it. (Let me know here by posting and I will re-post the info from an informative brochure that Joe shared with us...)