PDA

View Full Version : MRI's and metal

PinkGirl
08-19-2007, 06:13 PM
I haven't needed to have an MRI yet but probably will some day.
I have lots of metal in my spine from having a fusion in 1991.

Will I be able to have an MRI? I am hoping not because I am so
claustrophobic. I need an Ativan for a CT scan and bone scan.
Does anyone know???

Marlys
08-19-2007, 06:24 PM
My husband has lots of metal in his back also and when he needs further studies in that area they do a CT scan. Actually it depends on what type metal. It must be non-ferrous for it not to interfere with an MRI. Hopes this helps.
Marlys

PinkGirl
08-19-2007, 06:46 PM
Thanks Marlys
I guess I will have to find out about what's in my back.
I know that the plates are stainless steel but I know
nothing about the ferrous/non-ferrous stuff.
Thanks.

Marlys
08-19-2007, 07:02 PM
Ferrous means containing iron. Most implants these days are titanium (even from 1991). I am a retired operating room nurse. You should be able to get an accurate implant list from the hospital where they were implanted.
Marlys

tousled1
08-20-2007, 05:00 AM
PinkGirl,

I had a cervical spinal fusion and also a lumbar spinal fusion and I have no problem getting MRIs. The metal they use in fusion surgery is titanium (spelling?) You will not have any problem with getting MRIs.

Heidi Bibber
08-20-2007, 03:06 PM