I am new to Herceptin and am having it weekly for 30 minutes after the first
loading dose for 90 minutes. How long do you have to take benedryl with the
treatments because this ruins my whole day and I can't drive and can barely
stay awake.
Thanks for any information on this.
Patb

Chelee
11-24-2006, 03:43 PM
Once they do your loading dose and find out you don't have any reactions to herceptin...you should be able to do the rest of them without benedryl.

Chelee

tricia keegan
11-24-2006, 03:53 PM
My Dr insisted I have Benadryl for every treatment and like you it just put me asleep for the day.

I think he was just being over cautious!
Tricia

panicked911
11-24-2006, 03:57 PM
I had a full dose for the first laoding dose. For the second dose I convi ced the doc to cut it in half. By treatment 3 I flew solo without it. You eed to be your own advocate. Speak to the doctor directly about it and make your argument for foregoig it logical and persuasive. Chances are she will not order it.

Good luck.

Susanne

chrislmelb
11-24-2006, 04:02 PM
I have never had Benadryl and I can't see any reason i'd even have needed it. I suggest you just tell them you don't want it.
Good luck
Christine

kari
11-24-2006, 07:36 PM
Hi Patb,
I had my first Herceptin last week. The only pre-med the onc ordered was 650 mg. Tylenol. I had no reactions whatsoever of any kind. I had asked the chemo nurse about Benadryl, as I had heard some pts. get it, and she said they don't usually give it as a pre-med. Unless there is strong evidence for you to have it, ask about going without. Good luck.
Take care,
Karen

"The Good Lord gave us mountains, so we could learn how to climb!"

Hopeful
11-25-2006, 09:24 AM