PDA

View Full Version : Employment and cancer treatments

MCS
11-09-2006, 10:21 AM
I lost my job last year in the middle of the chemo treatments. I would like to go back to work but everytime I answer an ad, the employer is unwilling to accept that I am going thru treatment every three weeks and need monitoring thru tests every 3 and 6 months on out. They are hesitant to hire someone that could get sick quickly again and for a long extednded period, or even die.

I am an accountant. Work was really important to me before all this. It isn't anymore but I would like to earn some money. I have two daughters in college and it's expensive

How do I handle this?

Has anyone experienced this?

I feel like I would like to go back to work but no employer wants the responsibility of having a cancer patient. Descrimination, that's right

thanks

MCS ( maria)

Soccermom
11-09-2006, 10:40 AM
Dear Maria,
I am not exactly in your position, but would LOVE to be able to leave the job I had prior to/during and post treatment. I have doing some research regarding our rights as cancer patients which is considered a "disability" by the SSA. Here are some links that might have some info that you can use....

http://www.canceradvocacy.org/

http://www.plwc.org/portal/site/PLWC/menuitem.034b98abc65a8f566343cc10ee37a01d/?vgnextoid=763803e8448d9010VgnVCM100000f2730ad1RCR D

http://janweb.icdi.wvu.edu/

I HATE the thought that I am locked in until I am 5 years out! I just finished last Herceptin 12 weeks ago and if I am correct that starts the clock as far as " years out".Granted, I am no longer on Chemo,but Arimidexcauses me to have pretty significant joint pain. I just don't know when I am no longer considered a Cancer patient (as far as the workplace) is considered.As far as insurance goes ,we know that its 5 years after last treatment. I wonder if Arimidex is considered "treatment"?? OY