PDA

View Full Version : Brain mets

Karen t
11-09-2005, 06:49 PM
Hi Everyone,

I have never done any online chatting before so please bear with me if I make mistakes.

Just read the info (copied and shown below) and am wondering if any of you have been having diagnostic testing while you are still symptom free? If so, what kind, e.g., MRI, CT?

Am I correct in assuming there is a benefit to early detection of brain mets?

Many thanks,
Karen t

Info copied from part of this website:
30% of all women with metastatic breast cancer will eventually
develop brain tumors. 30% of these women will not experience
symptoms until their tumors are too large to be treated through
non-invasive procedures.

Herceptin and other drugs may keep the primary cancer under
control but do not cross the blood brain barrier. This results in
HER2 positive patients having a higher incidence of brain tumors.

We encourage all metastatic breast cancer patients to request
brain MRI's to be performed on a regular basis. Be familiar with
all of the symptoms and immediately tell your oncologist should
you experience any of them.

StephN
11-10-2005, 12:20 AM
Hi Karen -
It has been one of the missions of this website to educate about the possibility and and proliferation of metasteses to the brain as a result of breast cancer.

Unfortunately the brain is one of the favorite places in our bodies the breast cancer will move to. The other two favorites are the liver and lungs, not forgetting the bones. Of all the cancers the three that favor the brain are (in order of most occurrence) melanoma, lung cancer and then breast cancer. Normally we are talking about people who are already stage IV or who have had disease progression. So, the cancer may move to the liver and then to the brain, as happened in my case. Fortunately I have been able to fight it off and currently show no signs of active disease. (A little GOOD news!)