PDA

View Full Version : Herceptin

Toubev
10-22-2005, 01:45 PM
I would like to hear from anyone who experienced heart issues on herceptin. I would also like to hear from those being treated with it & what kind of heart monitoring they had while on it. I only had a muga scan before chemo & no other monitoring until I got really sick. This is my first time on the message boards. I just had my 2 year anniv. on Sept. 3rd but this is also my second go round with B.C.

Lolly
10-23-2005, 08:42 AM
I haven't had any decrease in heart function while on Herceptin, which I started in Jan.2001. I'm monitered every 6 months with either an Echo or a MUGA. Waiting for results of my MUGA last week. I have always been in the "low normal range", mid 50's.

Are you on Herceptin now? When you say you got really sick, do you mean you have experienced decreased heart function?

<3,
Lolly

BonnieT
10-23-2005, 09:12 AM
HI
I had a MUGA before hercpetin and then after 2 months on hercpetin with taking it every 3 weeks. My MUGA dropped from 52% to 37% so I stopped herceptin and saw a cardiologist who did an ECHO, he said there was no heart damage. He then put me on Coreg. and Lisinopril for my heart, I had another MUGA about 2 months later and it went back up to 53%. So I have just started herceptin again, but I am trying a lower dose and taking it weekly, I am still on my heart meds and will have a MUGA in 2 months. THere are some people on this board that take Coq10 that is suppose to help heart function. The funny thing is I didn't have any symptoms when my MUGA had dropped into the 30's except I was a little tired and who isn't :-). So I guess I am being monitered about every 2 months, I also have an appt. with my Oncologist and Cardiologist every 2 months right after my heart scans.
Hope this helps
God Bless
BonnieT

Toubev
10-23-2005, 04:01 PM