PDA

View Full Version : Walter Reed Vaccine Study

Cynthia
01-24-2005, 09:59 AM
I recently finished my six rounds of vaccine injections at Walter Reed Army Hospital (the military partner of Windber). I was eligible to go there because my husband is retired military. The experience was terrific. I had the chance to meet with the various research nurses and Dr. George Peoples, the director of the study, and to chat with him from time to time (via email) about different issues relating to the vaccine. It is truly comforting to know that we have such intelligent and dedicated folks out there working on our behalf. (I was diagnosed 9/03, Her 2 +++, 4 pos. nodes, I did chemo CAF (no Herceptin), radiation and am NED. I also was HLA A2 so I met all of the criteria to get in (I understand that the criteria may have been changed recently though I have no first hand knowledge of that). I never had any adverse side effects from the vaccine to speak of (just itchy legs at the injection sites which they say is a good thing because it means there is an immune response occurring). Apparently the blood samples you give each time you go in for your shots shows the researchers a great deal about the immune response you may be having to the vaccine. However, because this is a trial, they will not tell you about your own blood results. You have to wait until a paper is published to learn about the results of the study's participants in the aggregate. With fingers and toes tightly crossed, I am pleased to report I am doing great. I understand that a paper will be published on the results to date of the Walter Reed/Windber study in about 3 months or so. I will let you know when I learn more about the publication of the paper. In the meantime, please let me know if you have any questions about the Walter Reed study or my experience with it. Also, I would be curious if any others out there participated at Walter Reed. Thank you and best wishes to everyone.

*_Meg_*
01-24-2005, 10:31 AM