HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > her2group
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 03-24-2007, 05:50 PM   #1
concerned

MUGA vs. echo

I am new to this and have a question. My mom's oncologist is insisting that a echocardiogram is preferable for monitoring her heart function while on herceptin. Everything I read says MUGA or echo. However, here and on other boards, everyone seems to have MUGAs. Are they more precise? Why wouldn't he want a MUGA? and will they catch any problems as quickly with an echo? My parents mentioned this way she wouldn't need radioactive materials in her...but I read it is trace amounts?

She received a herceptin treatment(started in Dec) on Wed and wound up in the hospital after it was completed...shortness of breath and pain. They ruled out a heart attack and a blood clot in her lungs with CAT Scans, x rays, blood work and stress tests. She is also currently receiving radiation. I get the uneasy feeling that it was the herceptin and we may not be so lucky next time. She goes to the oncologist again on Mon and I'm not ready to let the MUGA scan vs echo rest yet, however, I don't have anything concrete.

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks.
concerned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 06:38 PM   #2
Sheila

I believe it is the Oncologists who favor one or the other...the echo is non invasive, no need to use radioactive dyes as they do in CT scans...although they sometimes do inject an inhancer to visualize the ventricle and take measurements...especially if you have an implant on the left sie...makes an echo a little trickier. Some Dr's believe that an echo is more precise and less error factors...also less costly.

Hugs & Blessings
Sheila
Diagnosed at age 49.99999 2/21/2002 via Mammography (Calcifications)
Core Biopsy 2/22/02
L. Mastectomy 2/25/2002
Stage 1, 0.7cm IDC, Node Neg from 19 nodes Her2+++ ER PR Neg
6/2003 Reconstruction W/ Tissue Expander, Silicone Implant