HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > Herceptin / Tykerb
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Herceptin / Tykerb Share your experiences or ask questions about Herceptin or Tykerb

Old 04-21-2010, 06:14 PM   #1
shonda

Recurrence vs. Metastatic

I have metastatic disease I have been batteling for 4 yrs now.

I know what recurrence means, but my question is:

What is worse?

I am running out of chemo options at this point as I am on my 5th-6th line.
I did ask my onc last week-- since the mets have now gone to the liver, what happens if they can't be controlled (which I do know that answer), but she said to me that it is unrealistic to think I am going to live another 10 yrs. Not a canidate for surgery since there are 6 and in both lobes.

So lets say we pull them back and reach NED here.. If they showed up again later is that considered a recurrence or just still batteling mets all together.

It sounds to me someone with a recurrence has "more" options then some one who has been batteling with lines of chemo-- bone mets and then liver shows up while on taxol. My onc keeps telling me the cancer finds a way to wiggle around chemo and the more chemo you have the more resistant you become. I am Her2 positive and on herceptain for the last 4 yrs. There has even been mention of being resistant to that. WOW what does a person do when we have used chemo to keep bone mets stable and there is not much left for this organ?

Thanks
Shonda
shonda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 07:32 AM   #2
pibikay

Re: Recurrence vs. Metastatic

Hi shonda
I am myself a bit confused.My son tells me that with metastatic once itis cured it does not mean for ever and that there are chances of the cancer surfacing again,
Left breast cauliflower 25x20cm
ossousmetstatis in vertbrae secondaries L4=L5secondary
nodules in both liver lobes secondary
Diagnosed 10th March 2010
ER/PR-ve
Her 2 neu +++
Taxotrne Zylotec started 16th March