HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > her2group
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-22-2009, 09:31 AM   #1
kristen8594

Herceptin question

Hello,
I was wondering if anybody could tell me about herceptin side effects. I am 5 years post chemo and finished my five years of tamoxifen. I cannot go on femara because I am not post menopausal. My onco gave me the choice of going on herceptin now, I was basically in shock because I had been asking for it a few years ago but it was not approved for post chemo patients. My insurance company gave the approval and now I guess its a go!!! Other than the possible heart complications are there any other side effects? I am an avid runner and weight trainer, will I still be able to continue these things? Has there been a lot of people that did have heart complications? and if so are they reversable? I understand that they monitor you quite frequently for this but now I am nervous.
Any info would be great. Thanks
Kristen
1.6 cm her2+++ er/pr +
1/13 node positive
A/C and Taxol Dose dense/8 treatments/ 3 months rads
finished treatments 12/31/03
tamoxifen 5years
Starting late herceptin 5/09
Finished one year herceptin 5/10
Waiting to start Femara
kristen8594 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 10:43 AM   #2
Jean

interesting....

Kristen,
Your post is very interesting.
First of all I am assuming that you were Stage 1
negative nodes.

I do believe (I could certainly be wrong here) that none of the members has had just herceptin this far out from chemo on our board. If so please respond.

In answer to your question of heart issue. What type of chemo did you receive? The A/C along with herceptin
was an issue. The new procedure is to not combine herceptin with A/C to avoid heart issues.

Of course with any drug there are always the chance of side effects. Are you in good health and do you have any heart health issues?