HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > her2group
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 02-14-2005, 08:19 PM   #1
*_anne_*

Hello,

I was reading through some of the old posts and someone had written that this is the most inherited type of BC. Is this true? My mom's onc. nurse told her to tell me to be v. careful cause she said her2 tends to run in families. I am 30 and have already had a baseline mammogram. I would like to know if someone has read any articles relating to this.

Thanks,
Anne
Old 02-15-2005, 12:18 AM   #2
Kristen

Hi Anne,
From what I learned the other day from my genetics counselor, (sorry guys but we talked about everything) HER2 is an oncogene that everyone carries. At present they don't know why some peoples HER2 goes nuts and causes cancer and others live harmonously with it.
I myself feel that is does, at least in my family.
If it only happens in 30% of breast cancers, my family is at 50-75%. But then again I am no scientist.
Anne, if I find any supporting articles for it being hereditary, I will post them. Good question. Take Care k
Old 02-15-2005, 01:17 AM   #3
Kristen

My NCBI
[Sign In] [Register]

Entrez PubMed Nucleotide Protein Genome Structure OMIM PMC Journals Books

Search PubMed Protein Nucleotide Structure Genome Books CancerChromosomes Conserved Domains 3D Domains Gene Genome Project GENSAT GEO Profiles GEO DataSets HomoloGene Journals MeSH NCBI Web Site NLM Catalog OMIM PMC PopSet PubChem BioAssay PubChem Compound PubChem Substance SNP Taxonomy UniGene UniSTS for

Limits Preview/Index History Clipboard Details

About Entrez

Text Version

Entrez PubMed
Overview
Help | FAQ
Tutorial
New/Noteworthy
E-Utilities

PubMed Services
Journals Database
MeSH Database
Single Citation Matcher
Batch Citation Matcher
Clinical Queries
LinkOut
My NCBI (Cubby)

Related Resources
Order Documents
NLM Catalog
NLM Gateway
TOXNET
Consumer Health
Clinical Alerts
ClinicalTrials.gov