Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > her2group
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 11-20-2006, 06:06 AM   #1
Joe
Webmaster

Questions on chemo and herceptin

<!-- / icon and title --><!-- message -->Copied from an earlier post:
Hi

I am very new to the whole chat room scene. Although I have been reading for the past week. I am looking for information on whether to do chemo and Herceptin or just herceptin alone.
I was diagnoised with early stage bc through mammogram, no lump was detected. Had a lumpectomy Nov. 1st. They found foucal microinvasion, took 2 node neg. ER,Pr neg but her2 3+, I will start radiation the first week in Dec. and go for 7 weeks.
Found out Thursday, the day the FDA approved herceptin for early stage bc that the onc wanted to do 4 session of chemo and 1 year of herceptin. I am looking to do only heceptin. Also the onc is having the genetic testing done on the her2 gene to see how agressive it is. Has any ones onc suggested this test and what have they found out?
Thanks This has been a great site.
DianneM
<!-- / message -->

Illegitimi non carborundum

My Album
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 08:40 AM   #2
suzan w

perhaps she is referring to Oncotype DX test? If so, I had it done after surgery...and the results surprised my oncologist. She was not going to recommend chemo and wasn't sure about herceptin. But the oncotype put me at a high-intermediate risk for distant recurrance within 10 years. I did chemo, then herceptin! DOn't know if this is any help!!
5/05 biopsy-invasive lobular carcinoma with LCIS,8mm tumor,stage 1 grade 2, ER+ PR+ Her2+++
6/14/05 bilateral mastectomy, node neg. all scans neg.
Oncotype DX-high risk
8/05-10/05 4 rounds A/C
10/05 -10/06 1 yr. herceptin
arimidex-5 years
2/14/08 started daily self administered injections..FORTEO for severe osteoporosis
7/28/09 BRCA 1 negative BRCA2 POSITIVE
8/17/09 prophylactic salpingo-oophorectomy
10/15/10 last FORTEOinjection