HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > her2group
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 04-16-2006, 05:37 PM   #1
LOPSIDED

Question Weekly Or Once Every 3 Weeks---herceptin

Just wondering why some people do herceptin weekly and others every 3 weeks. I have heard from someone that if it is done every 3 weeks that it is done with chemo and if it is weekly it is only herceptin. Not sure if this info is correct. I'm new at all of this and am still learning. Thanks for any input.
LOPSIDED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2006, 06:09 PM   #2
mekasan

herceptin only and 3 weeks

I am post chemo and now receiving Herceptin (only) infusions every 3 weeks. I don't know what determines the schedule, but it is my understanding that the weekly doses are less stressful on the heart b/c you get 1/3 the amount.
mekasan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2006, 06:31 PM   #3
mekasan

Herceptin Weekly or Every Three Weeks

I was incorrect before. I just read an article that states that weekly doses are not less stressful on the heart than 1 dose every three weeks. In addition, I found a similar question posted in another site. I hope it helps.

Here is the web address and the Q/A copied and pasted from the site.

http://www.oncolink.com/experts/arti...&ss=22&id=2237
Posting Date: April 2, 2006

Dear OncoLink "Ask The Experts,"
I was diagnosed with Stage 2 breast cancer, and am now receiving Taxotere, Cytoxan, and Herceptin every 3 weeks. Is there any benefit to doing Herceptin weekly? I've been given the option of weekly or every 3 weeks for the year I'll be taking it.

Kevin R. Fox, MD, Assistant Director, Clinical Affairs and Associate Professor of Hematology/Oncology at the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania, responds: