HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > her2group
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-01-2009, 03:27 AM   #1
Ellie F

Hair loss and cold caps

I wondered if anyone had any experience of using cold caps to try to prevent hair loss during chemo? I have heard varying reports about their effectiveness and their discomfort factor! Any thoughts?Thanks Ellie
Ellie F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 06:07 AM   #2
Becky

I have no real experience but my friend did it diligently because her daughter was getting married and she didn't want to lose her hair. It did not work for her.

Becky

Found lump via BSE
Diagnosed 8/04 at age 45
1.9cm tumor, ER+PR-, Her2 3+(rt side)
2 micromets to sentinel node
Stage 2A
left 3mm DCIS - low grade ER+PR+Her2 neg
lumpectomies 9/7/04
4DD AC followed by 4 DD taxol
Used Leukine instead of Neulasta
35 rads on right side only
4/05 started Tamoxifen
Started Herceptin 4 months after last Taxol due to
trial results and 2005 ASCO meeting & recommendations
Oophorectomy 8/05
Started Arimidex 9/05
Finished Herceptin (16 months) 9/06
Arimidex Only
Prolia every 6 months for osteopenia

NED 18 years!

Said Christopher Robin to Pooh: "You must remember this: You're braver than you believe and stronger than you seem and smarter than you think"
Becky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 01:50 AM   #3
Ellie F

Thanks Becky
I was thinking of giving it a go in the hope that I might keep my hair this summer as I lost it last summer and it has only just come back!
Ellie
Ellie F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 04:48 AM   #4
Christine MH-UK

Mixed review

Well, this worked for me when I was on anthracyclines before surgery; however, I decided not to use it after surgery when I was put on taxotere. The amount of time that you need to keep it on if you have a taxane is incredibly long and I would not have been able to tolerate it.