HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > Profiles In Courage
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-26-2005, 04:53 AM   #1
Linda

Hi This is my first time posting. Was diagnosed 5 years ago this month. 4.5cm. tumor, 4nodes pos. ER neg Her2 pos. Had masectomy, AC, then taxotere with herceptin and also radiation . I am on herceptin now indefinitely( NO other chemo), every 3 weeks. Been ned for over 4 and a half years.
Old 04-26-2005, 08:15 PM   #2
Carolyn

Linda , that is fantastic. I am very happy for you.
Have you ever had to take a break from Herceptin for any reason (ie: low muga scan , etc)? If so, how long was before you were able to take the drug again?
Old 04-27-2005, 07:37 PM   #3
michele u

Linda, What stage were you in to start with? Were you in the adjuvant Herceptin trial? I'm surprised they left you on Herceptin that long! If it's working great. I just didn't know anyone would do that not being stage 4.
michele u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 12:56 PM   #4
yuka

Hi Linda,I am so happy to hear your story. I think herceptin has been doing very good job!
Did you have any adverse effect from herceptin?I am now wondering whether should I get herceptin or not,because I got AC chemo and adriamycin has the same adverse effect on heart as herceptin and I am really worried about that.
Old 08-16-2005, 06:10 AM   #5
Gabrielle

Dear Linda,

Keep on going!!

It's been 5.5 years for me -- Stage IIIa, 5 cm tumor; 9/21 positive nodes; Her2/Neu, ER negative. I was 44 yrs old at diagnosis. I had a mastectomy followed by a prophylactic mastectomy and hysterectomy.

After 4 rounds of Adria/Cytox; 4 rounds of taxotere; and 25 hits of radiation, I found a doc who gave me a year of Herceptin. Upon my own request, I've had my heart checked every year since -- no damage.

My kids were 12 and 9 at diagnosis -- a lot to fight for. My oldest turns 18 this Friday. God is good.

Hugs,
-Gabrielle