HonCode

Go Back   HER2 Support Group Forums > Herceptin / Tykerb
Register Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Herceptin / Tykerb Share your experiences or ask questions about Herceptin or Tykerb

Old 11-12-2009, 06:36 PM   #1
v-ness

herceptin and fatigue

hi all -

i am kind of new to this whole chemo & herceptin thing as i just started treatment on october 8. i've had 2 rounds of TCH with the H every single week. last week when i went in i had a low grade fever of 99 that went up to 100 after my herceptin infusion so i stayed home from work. today i was just ducky in the morning, bloodwork was fine, got my herceptin. i was reading for a while, then felt like a nap, only to realize my bag was empty so it was time to ring the bell for a nurse and go off to work. when i got to work i began to feel powerfully weak and fatigued all of a sudden. i left because i didn't want to push myself. i learned from you guys that herceptin has a 21 day half-life so i guess it's building up inside me now like the chemo.

could this just be a fluke or has anyone else gotten fatigued by herceptin? i've honestly done quite well these past 5 weeks except on chemo day and the past 2 herceptin days. that is to say, 2 days after my last chemo i was on the roof cleaning gutters and out leaf blowing - i.e. feeling strong with only minor fatigue.

i take a multi-vitamin every day along with vitamin d3 and echinacea & goldenseal. i haven't had the flu or even a cold in over a decade, other than this cancer i've been healthy as a horse. mom makes me a triple mushroom soup from The Cancer Cookbook that i think i'll ask for next week before chemo to jack myself up with healthy stuff. oh, and the day after every chemo i get a shot of neulasta so i haven't had any blood issues whatsoever.