HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   help for a friend- probable lung cancer with spread (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=39146)

karen z 04-26-2009 08:23 AM

help for a friend- probable lung cancer with spread

I have just found out that a dear friend of mine, whom I have known since I was a grad student, has cancer with spread to the spine. The docs at Cleveland Clinic believe that the primary source is the lung. My friend has had chest x-rays and scans so far and will have a biopsy next week in Cleveland. I just talked to her husband and I believe that the plan is to go to one of the major cancer centers (M.D., Sloan, or another) to develop a treatment plan and to possibly have the actual treatment at the Univ. of Michigan. I wonder if anyone can provide any advice on which center might be the best for this type of problem? I am sorry I cannot yet provide any other information. My friends are in their upper seventies (they were like parents to me during my training) and completely distraught. Any advice would be appreciated.

Lien 04-26-2009 11:42 AM

I don't have any advice, as I'm from the Netherlands, Europe. I have a story that might lift your spirits though.
One of my father's good friends, an artist in his mid-seventies, developed lungcancer almost 5 years ago. He was told that his prognosis was not good, and was asked whether he wanted aggressive therapy or not. He chose aggressive therapy and is cancer-free to this day. He had mets to the brain, so he had wbr, which caused concentration and memory problems, but otherwise he is fine and enjoying life. So don't give up hope!

Love

Jacqueline

Love

Jacqueline

karen z 04-26-2009 01:58 PM

Thank you Jacqueline. Your post was very much needed.
Best,
Karen

Believe51 04-26-2009 06:22 PM