HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Test Inconclusive (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=27212)

momdeeco 03-01-2007 08:28 PM

Test Inconclusive

I got my results today form Genetic Testing for BRAC 1 and BRAC 2. It came back inconclusive. Has anyone else had results come back like this and what did you do. I have an paternal aunt in a nursing home, and I will be asking the family if they would consider having her tested also, as she had breast cancer many years ago. (I also had a paternal great aunt and paternal great grandmother that had breast cancer.)

islandgirl 01-07-2010 09:32 PM

Re: Test Inconclusive

Hi, you posted your BRAC 1, BRAC 2 experience a while ago. I'm new to this, however, I did have genetic testing recently. My BRAC 2 came back as a 'variance of non-significance', i.e., it was inconclusive. This apparently rarely happens - my genetist explained that there is a narrow band of genetic testing at present and the hopes are that it will vastly expand in the future. That is why our results are archived - with the hopes new information will always be emerging. Admittedly, I was bummed to have this test inconclusive. I do feel, however, I have given the gift to my sisters and nieces (my daughters are adopted) of knowing they have less to worry about with respect to breast cancer.

Ceesun 01-08-2010 07:01 PM

I had brca testing in 2003 and I was told I had a variant for 2 and negative for 1. Last summer, I received news that the 2 could be reclassified as negative--it took 6 years to get the definitive answer. Ceesun

islandgirl 01-08-2010 07:34 PM