HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   reconstruction questions (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=54733)

AliciaB 06-12-2012 07:59 PM

reconstruction questions

Hi ladies-
Now that I am 2/3 through chemo- Yippeee- I am looking at reconstruction. I went from surgery directly into chemo. I did not have expanders put in right away. Did I overlook something? I still have to go through radiation, but I am wondering if doctors neglected to give me option of expanders immediately when I had.surgery. has anyone had reconstruction after radiation? How did it work? At the time of.the surgery they said I was a candidate for the flap reconstruction, ie tummy tuck and new boobs. Any one have this surgery after radiation?

LeahM 06-13-2012 03:10 AM

Re: reconstruction questions

Alicia,
I am not a expert on these matters but the way I understood the reconstruction options was that the expanders were only for if you would be getting saline implants.
Are you going to have the DIEP (DIEP?) reconstruction? That takes tissue and fat from abdomen area but not muscle. The other procedure takes abd. muscle. My plastics guy told me the recovery from the DEIP was much easier.
Were you given a choice re: rads or were you told you have to do it? I ask that question for my own benefit.

chekmark 06-13-2012 04:42 AM