HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Released from my Onc. today. (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46439)

Mary Jo 08-19-2010 08:07 PM

Released from my Onc. today.

Hello all......

Just wanted to share my day with you all here. You would understand "my" world and all that goes with that.

I had my 6 month follow up (what I've been doing since I was at 2 years from dx) today and after discussing everything, me and my onc. decided to cut me loose! I reached my 5 year cancerversary this summer. I have a good primary doctor in the city I live in and he is a very thorough doctor who takes my concerns seriously and always follows through with any concerns I have. So, it was decided that I would quit going to see my onc. and see my primary doctor annually, as I do now, for cholesterol, etc.

When he was doing my exam today he asked me if I had any concerns since my last visit. I mentioned to him that I had recurring pain (more like an ache/burning) on my upper right side...some digestion problems and although I felt it was not liver related, felt I would be smart in mentioning it. He agreed and examined the area. He said my liver was not enlarged and told me he felt it sounded more gall bladder related. However, he ordered an ultra-sound that I had this afternoon. THANKFULLY, when the test was over they told me to go back to the clinic to see my onc. (I thought I'd have to wait for results over the weekend - UGH - we all know how awful that is) I thought...uh oh.....could it be.....my liver???? It was NOT!! I have gall stones and he referred me to a surgeon who specializes in laporoscopy removal of the gallbladder. I will speak with him next week.