HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   I cant speak now!!!!!!! (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=54339)

Delaney 05-12-2012 07:16 AM

I cant speak now!!!!!!!

I'm bring treated for brain lesions. I had radiosurgery on Wednesday. Friday morning I could not
pronounce words, I knew what everything was but could not get the wods out. It was frightening. My husband brought me into oncology, the doctors had left for the weekend, the nurses did not know what to do. I went home and took a steroid, slept all night and am much improved today. Has anyone else had this happen? Please help if you can.

Lien 05-12-2012 08:52 AM

Re: I cant speak now!!!!!!!

Hi Delaney,

It's called aphasia, and it happens when the language center in your brain isn't working properly. I am no doctor, but I assume that the surgery caused some temporary damage or swelling. As you are getting better, it's unlikely that an permanent damage was done.

It is very scary when that happens. I have similar symptoms during a migraine attack sometimes. I have gotten used to it over time, so I don't freak out anymore.

Hang in there!

Jacqueline

Delaney 05-12-2012 09:01 AM

Thank you Jacuueline, I will be sure to keep a supply of steroids handy. My sister suffers with migraines so I know the pain you go thru. Best wishes.

NEDenise 05-12-2012 10:31 AM

Delaney,
No wisdom here, sorry...but I wanted to let you know I'm sending prayers and hugs.
Denise

Jackie07 05-12-2012 11:56 AM

Delaney,

Since you have no problem expressing your thoughts in writing, I would think the problem you've been experiencing is more related to the vocal cord.

The swelling of my brain after a 23-hour craniotomy in mid 1990 had affected the nerves controlling my vocal cord and I did not regain my 'speaking' ability until after several weeks of rigorous speech therapy.