HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Scared and Confused (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=66928)

KatherineM 02-28-2018 07:45 PM

Scared and Confused

I just went on Haloven for my lung mets, after consulting with a doctor at Sloan Kettering. (I live in NC.) Meanwhile, my pinky finger on my left hand had gone numb, so I had a brain MRI this afternoon. My oncologist called about 30 min. later to say that I have 16 metastases in my brain, most under 10 mm, but one around 16 mm. I'm shocked.

Going to see radiologist tomorrow morning. I think they want me to do Whole Brain Radiation, bc there are so many small tumors. I am terrified, of course. I'm a writer and a professor, and my brain is my go-to organ. Does anyone have any words of wisdom, experience, advice, for me? I am so scared of radiation in my brain, though they put me on steroids, I guess, to avoid swelling, which would be equally terrible?

Amy was the one whose cancer seemed to be a mirror to my own, and now she is gone. She was such a comfort and a presence on this site.

I thought I would have more time, and that just managing the lung mets was enough of a challenge, but now... I am devastated. RIP Amy. Is there anyone out there who has managed brain mets for some time? Please let me know there is hope!

Thank you!

Pamelamary 02-28-2018 10:40 PM

Re: Scared and Confused

Katherine,
No experience of brain mets, but there are many others on this forum who should be able to chime in. Also search the threads. There is a lot of hope out there, but I can only imagine how scary this new diagnosis is.
Best wishes..... Pam

KatherineM 03-01-2018 10:48 AM

Thank you, Pam. You have also been a beacon for me. I just want as much time as I can get. I'm turning 59 in two weeks, and I'd at least like to make 60, which is a big deal in Korean culture!