HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   On a wing and a prayer (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=57122)

LeahM 01-23-2013 01:36 PM

On a wing and a prayer

Friends,

Today I had my last radiation treatment. Dare I say all the hard stuff is over? I will still have Herceptin until July 2013 and at some point I will have my expanders removed and my implants..um...implanted.

I know I should be over the moon with joy right now but truthfully...I am scared. I have been walking in cancerland for 9 months now and I am a bit terrified of going back to the "real" world. Every day that I wake up and don't have cancer will be a wonderful day, but when will the anxiety ease up? I take Ativan (at night only...usually...sometimes during the day) and will begin yoga soon...also joining a gym. And oh yeah...going back to work....

The real world is out there, but I don't know if I am ready to embrace it yet...

...I have doubts about my actual health, but for now, I am told, I am NED.

wow....
Leah

hestko76 01-23-2013 02:07 PM

Re: On a wing and a prayer

Yes, Leah, I know exactly how you feel...... I officially "have been turned out to pasture." All 17 herceptin treatments done..... port removed..... now just checkups every 3 months. (My first checkup is in March.)
Maybe as days, months, and even years go by..... we can rest easy and truly know that cancer is a "thing of the past."
Good luck and may God Bless You!

greenacres 01-23-2013 03:23 PM

Wing and a prayer here too. It was scary getting my port removed back in 2/2011, but I knew I had to do it if I wanted to move "on". I have my next check-up end of February - bilateral MRI and I am scared already thinking about it. Stay strong my Her2 survivors, that's all we can do. :)

Paty 01-23-2013 03:49 PM

Leah,