HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Herceptin / Tykerb (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Is Herceptin working and the need for scans (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=60397)

Gail 02-27-2014 06:53 AM

Is Herceptin working and the need for scans

Is there any testing to see if herceptin is working? I am +++ very high so from what I can see my chances of herceptin preventing a recurrence are good but ....

Also after I get through the year of herceptin how often do others have scans etc? My oncologist has just said annual mammograms and nothing else.

Thanks

mjm 04-10-2014 02:23 AM

Re: Is Herceptin working and the need for scans

Hi Gail,

I'm not an expert on this as Mum was only diagnosed in Jan, but we are in Australia too and have been wondering about the same issue.

It is standard practice here not to do any more scans aside from mammograms after treatment, unless you get symptoms that suggest a problem. We would love to have some kind of reassurance too that there is no early signs of recurrence!

I think Mum's onc did a CA15-3(?) blood test early on which if high can indicate a recurrence is more likely. I think some women get these done routinely as follow-up after treatment (to see if levels are high), but don't yet really understand this one - we are just starting to look into it now.

How are you going on the Herceptin only compared to the full cocktail?

Best wishes xo

JillaryJill 04-10-2014 07:50 AM

My onc did not order scans unless I reported a symptom. You can see from my signature...I did have a few symptoms. Sometimes it is hard to distinguish an ache and pain from cancer! That part is maddening to me! The scans themselves, especially CT's have risks because of raditation.

Mtngrl 04-11-2014 12:20 PM