HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Caregivers Corner (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=53)
-   -   Help I am a nurse and know too much (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=45718)

simonew 06-21-2010 10:25 PM

Help I am a nurse and know too much

My daughter inlaw who is more like a good friend has been diagnosed with Her 2 with meds to the liver. She is
doing herceptin,carboplatium and taxel.

As a Critical Care Nurse and 15 year ago Oncology Nurse I am extremely nervious about a good prognosis.

The breast tumor is shrinking and seems to responding to the treatment. She will have a CT Scan of the liver this week.

The whole family is optomistic. I should be as her husband our son is a Testicular cancer suvivor.

Am I wrong to be overly distressed and not share my concerns I so want to be wrong in my thoughts.

ElaineM 06-22-2010 09:57 AM

Re: Help I am a nurse and know too much

You are not wrong to be stressed about your daughter in law's diagnosis. You are normal to be concerned about her welfare. As a nurse you are expected to be professional with your patients. Your daughter in law is not your patient. She is your family member and it is normal to be concerned about family members with serious health problems.
It is good news that her breast tumor is shrinking. Hopefully the scan will show shrinkage in her liver too.
All the best to both of you. Take good care of yourself.

simonew 06-22-2010 11:03 AM

Thank you so much for your kind words and good wishes.
I wish the very best for you

Simone

chrisy 06-22-2010 12:43 PM

Of course your are nervous about your daughter in law's prognosis. Having a medical background you are well acquainted with the statistics (although for Her2+ breast cancer they have changed quite a bit in the last 15 years).