HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Herceptin / Tykerb (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Tykerb: Time of day (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=45621)

Rich66 06-14-2010 12:06 AM

Tykerb: Time of day

Morning seems easier regarding inherent fasting. But are there reasons to take at other times.
Any thoughts on timing of Tykerb/Femara?

Nancy L 06-14-2010 12:50 PM

Re: Tykerb: Time of day

Rich,

I take mine just before going to sleep. That way I can deal with the diarrhea side effect first thing in the morning before I am out and about. I have been doing this now for 15 months. But I am taking 750mg. This doesn't mean that I haven't had periods of time when the side effects of Tykerb have been with me all day. I carry a bottle of Lomotil in my purse and that takes care of it most of the time.

Good luck to your mom---hope it works well for her.

Pam P 06-14-2010 04:42 PM

I always take it the first thing right away in the morning. That works well for me with no ill effects.

Sandra in GA 06-14-2010 04:51 PM

I seemed to do better taking it first thing in the AM before breakfast. If I waited until an hour after breakfast, I had more gastric activity. These were the two choices I was given by the doctors down at Mayo.

vlcarr 06-14-2010 07:48 PM

During the clinical trial they advised me to take it in the AM. Not sure why but I took mine at 9:00 am each day. I very rarely had the diarrhea but I think that was luck on my part!

Kavy 06-14-2010 11:48 PM

I took Tykerb first thing in the morning on an empty stomach, and waited one hour before having breakfast. It worked well for me.
KarlaV.

my2boys 06-22-2010 01:13 PM

I just started taking Tykerb on Saturday and I take it in the evenings about 1 hour after dinner.

I seem to be waking up each morning to diarrhea for about an hour or so. The first night was the worst.

Rich66 06-28-2010 12:12 AM