HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   $$ For Stage IV Sisters (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=55581)

Mtngrl 08-21-2012 09:04 PM

$$ For Stage IV Sisters

I was told last year when I was diagnosed that being Stage IV qualifies me for Social Security Disability. For some reason, it took over a year for that to sink in.

I've been paying in to Social Security since I was 16 years old. I guess I thought I'd have to prove I'm actually disabled, and I'm not. I feel fine.

It finally dawned on me that I might as well apply. It's pretty easy to get it started online. I did that on July 24. Unfortunately, I didn't notice two things. One is that there's a separate disability report (or whatever they call it) that I should have filled out online. The other is that my local social security office needs a hard copy of the application, with a "wet" signature from me and from a witness.

But no worries. I was able to do that in person at the social security office. Then I found out that my benefits might be back dated to my date of diagnosis. That will be a pretty big lump sum.

You don't have to actually be disabled. In my in-person meeting, the bureaucrat asked me to confirm the basis for my claim. I said "Stage IV breast cancer. " He said, "Is that all?" I said, "That's enough. It's terminal." He didn't bat an eye. THAT was weird. But OK. If I had his job I might have to turn off my empathy too. I bet he hears all kinds of tales of woe.

Oh--the other thing I learned is, don't try to bring your knitting into a building with a Social Security office in it. They won't let you take it in, nor will they hold it for you. I had to go to the bus station and check it with the nice folks at Greyhound. An hour round trip on the subway. And $5. Oh well.

Jackie07 08-22-2012 12:28 AM

Re: $$ For Stage IV Sisters

Amy,