HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Survivor's Guilt (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=61958)

europa 10-03-2014 11:26 AM

Survivor's Guilt

Next week is a big week for me. I go for scans, MRI and Bone. I definitely am nervous as I am coming up on 3 years. But something inside me feels guilty. I was told that my cancer was aggressive, it popped up in 6 months after a clear mammo and I was Stage 2b. My doctors said I had a shot at a cure but to also be aware that this cancer tends to come back within the first 3 years. So, subconsciously, I have been bracing myself for the last three years. And here I am. I feel good, other then the odd aches and pains, I have energy, my scans have so far been clear...I'm cautiously happy. However in the last 3 years I have seen many many people die from this crap, friends, colleagues, acquaintances and people I was in treatment with. I have dealt with each loss differently but the last one, Jessica (38, with two little kids) did me in. I am struggling with guilt. Why am I here and she isn't? She was ER+ only. They caught it relatively early like me. But yet, she's gone.
Does anyone else get survivor's guilt? How do you deal with it? I need to get a grip because I find myself crying in traffic when certain songs come on and I end up walking into work a mess.

Nurse4u2day 10-03-2014 05:09 PM

Re: Survivor's Guilt

My girlfriend passed at age 33 with 2 little kids. She had the same Dx as me but yet she never reached NED.. She just went from chemo to chemo to stage 4 to hospice and then passed. I have found that I will never have an answer as to why her but instead I just know she would celebrate with me for beating this cancer, with this knowledge I will continue to advocate for breast cancer awareness.

KDR 10-03-2014 05:28 PM