HER2 Support Group Forums

HER2 Support Group Forums (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   her2group (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   My Freak Accident (https://her2support.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=54799)

NEDenise 06-17-2012 01:05 PM

My Freak Accident

1 Attachment(s)
Okay...so the x-ray below shows the kind of day I've had. :(

To celebrate Father's Day, my sons and I took my husband and his dad bowling this morning. "Ladies first', they said. So up I stepped.

Now, friends, I'm no pro bowler. But I was taught by my dad...years and years ago...and though I don't always score well...I have beautiful form. In my youth, I once won an award for being "the most graceful bowler".

I stepped up to the approach line. I stood ready...started to move...reach out, pull back, release, glide...and then my foot caught on some kind of debris that was stuck to the flooring. I flew forward...head first...put my other foot down to catch my balance, only to discover that the lanes are freshly oiled on Sunday morning. My foot went flying. My hand went down to break my fall. My head hit the floor. Twice.

I'm told, that it was quite spectacular to watch. Frightening...but spectacularly so.

I was stunned, but not unconscious. People rushed from several lanes away in each direction. Then, many of them rushed away just as quickly when they saw the angle at which my hand rested.

As my husband, father-in-law, and two sons all rushed forward to come to my rescue, I waved them off. I could just see the mayhem that would have ensued if any, or all of them tried to walk on that oily floor. I sat up slowly, without benefit of my hands for support. Then, with as much dignity as I could muster, I slid on my butt, forever ruining the shorts I was wearing, until I got off the oily, messy part of the floor.