PDA

View Full Version : Webinar 10/27/10: Metabolic Reprogramming Therapy in the Treatment of Cancer


Rich66
10-02-2010, 12:18 PM
LINK/registration (http://www.seahorsebio.com/webinars/webinar-2010-10-27-denko.php?jmid=4467&j=252849807&MassEmailID=252849807&Email=richreilly%40hotmail.com&utm_source=JangoMail&utm_medium=Email&utm_campaign=Seahorse+Webinar%3A+%22Metabolic+Repr ogramming+Therapy+in+the+Treatment+of+Cancer%22+wi th+Nicholas+Denko%2C+PhD+%28252849807%29&utm_content=richreilly%40hotmail.com)


Metabolic Reprogramming Therapy in the Treatment of Cancer

Guest Speaker:
http://www.seahorsebio.com/images/webinars/denko.jpg
Nicholas Denko, PhD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology - Radiation Biology
Stanford University, School of Medicine
Wednesday, October 27, 2010
9:30 am San Francisco
12:30 pm Boston
18:30 Copenhagen

Webinar Abstract:

It has been recognized since the times of Otto Warburg that cancer cells have a unique reliance on glycolysis for cellular energy production, at the expense of mitochondrial oxidative phosphorylation (the Warburg Effect). In the subsequent 70 years, researchers have developed significant insight into the molecular mechanisms responsible for this shift in oncogenically transformed cells. However, it is still not clear why this shift to a less efficient means of energy production results in a tumor growth advantage.
You will learn:


Some of the molecular mechanisms responsible for tumor cellsí increased rate of glycolysis and decreased rate of mitochondrial activity.
Possible reasons why this metabolic shift is beneficial for the growth of tumors.
How these mechanisms and pathways can be targeted therapeutically in the treatment of cancer.