PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for Recipes and Resources

Glad2BHere
04-27-2010, 02:43 PM
Hi! I am new to this board. I have 2 more Herceptin treatments left and it has hit me that I really need to make some changes in my diet. My Oncologist said the words "High risk for metastisis" last week and it was a good slap in the face. I had stage 3b Her 2 positive breast cancer in my right breast and lymph nodes.It was also ER and PR positive. I did TCH chemo and then had my masectomy in October and showed a complete response-no cancer left. I also did 33 days of radiation. I have read the book "Eat to Live" so far, but I was wondering what your favorite resources are for diet advice and especially recipes( I am a horrible cook). I don't want to continue with my old bad habits and get the same results. I am scared right now because Herceptin was my security blanket and I will be on my own soon. HELP!!!

ElaineM
04-27-2010, 03:56 PM
Welcome aboard !! Diet and nutrition are very important in successful cancer treatment. What we put in our mouths does make a difference. You might want to check out the nutrition forum for ideas about food and/or supplements. We have a dietician who has been very helpful too. If you do a search on the internet for breast cancer and nutrition you will probably find a lot of books and other resources on the subject.
Personally I eat a plant based diet that has alot of fresh vegetables, healthy whole grains, some fruit, and vegetarian sources of protein.
Take good care of yourself and feel free to drop by anytime.

Karen Wheel
04-28-2010, 06:26 AM
I have a host of books and info --- and I have been on the health food kick - wagon --- and tooting its horn for the last year here on the board!