PDA

View Full Version : Femara or.....???

BonnieR
01-08-2010, 06:41 PM
Saw my onc today for routine follow up. I continue to be so sore and achy, especially by day's end. Joints and feet. She suggested I consider switching from Femara to another AI. What has been your experience doing this? Part of me hates to rock the boat. And I hate to be whiny.

tricia keegan
01-08-2010, 06:47 PM
Bonnie I have no experience of aromasin but as femara and arimidex are sister drugs I think they have the same side effects.
I know on arimidex I have stiffness/achey joints and take glucosamine/chondroitin but think they are fairly similar.
I find it tolerable so stay on it in the hope it working to keep cancer away:)

Lani
01-08-2010, 09:11 PM
http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/174943.php

BonnieR
01-08-2010, 09:57 PM
Thanks Lani, how interesting. This study suggests switching TO Femara! I am considering switching off of it. I wonder if my symptoms would be even WORSE if I was receiving a different drug? My onc did say that it seems that one drug is sometimes better tolerated than another, even though they function in the same way.
It's always some stupid thing....but as Tricia said, as long as it's working.

karen z
01-09-2010, 06:39 PM
Lani,
Thanks for posting.

Lani
01-09-2010, 06:47 PM
You are most welcome!!!

Cannon
01-10-2010, 09:50 AM
I think this is one of those "your mileage may vary" issues - while Arimidex and Femara are very similar, people do have different responses, so I would say if you are very uncomfortable, try something else. My pain on arimidex was 7 or 8, would have needed pain meds to continue (but would have) -- we switched to femara and it was a 2 or 3, now negligible. If you switch and it's worse, you can always switch back.

Best,
Rebecca

sarah
01-10-2010, 10:46 AM
Bonnie do you take it at night? I do and find the side effects less annoying. I take it just before I turn out the light to go to sleep.
health and happiness
sarah

BonnieR