PDA

View Full Version : Found out too late?

MAVIS
11-01-2009, 01:26 PM
I posted this on the wrong thread and will try here. I am new to the Her2 group --- and not sure I even belong.

I will try to be brief.

Dx. IDC in 04 - 63 yrs. old, lumpectomy with wide clear margins, no node involvement, ER+ PR + over 90%, tumor size 1.4 cm, stage 1, grade 3 - 36 rads w/ boosts, took Arimidex for 5 years.... many se's so decided to go off, since the dr. left it up to me.

I was reading about Her2 because of a friend and saw there were numbers..... saw that 2+ is considered border line positive and should be verified by a FISH test.

I didn't remember any numbers so dug out my path report and looked. It says : HER2 = 2+ (negative) and there was a notation at the bottom saying this was in consultation with another dr --- who verified, (but nothing about a FISH test being done)

I called the dr. office and was told that in 04 a score of 2+ was considered negative. They said they would try to find out more info and call me back. They did call back and said that I was just on the edge of the time that they started using the FISH test and I didn't have one. The Onc. they talked to said that being 5 and 1/2 years out I was doing well......

My surgeon specializes in breast surgery and all the female drs. and nurses at this breast center go to him. He did not think I needed chemo - so he manages the BC. I never saw a Med. Onc.

I have been seeing the Rad. Onc. since 04 because of not having a Med. Onc. I talked to her about the Her2 and she told me the exact same thing.

I have done a little reading and find that it is way too late now to do anything about it...... but here I am for 5 years thinking I am HER2 negative and I've been at least borderline!