PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice

Angela
10-30-2009, 11:01 AM
As you see from my info below, I have been battling breast cancer for 6 years. I have continued to work with the exception of 2 months in 2003 and a month in 2006. Of course, I missed days here and there but I worked. I am a technology coordinator for a very large high school. My mom and my husband want me to come out on disability. I am having a hard time with this decision. I feel like I am admitting defeat. But then other times I think if this were my last year on earth (which no one knows when) would I want to spend my time at work or home with my family. Have any of you struggled with this decision or is it just me?

whatz
10-30-2009, 12:00 PM
Wow, toughie. No, I haven't walked in your shoes yet but have had similar thoughts anyway. Is work taking up too much of my time and do I need to re-balance. Maybe your employer would work with you going on a part-time basis (if you can handle your insurance that way). Or...can you consider short-term disability to see how things progress?

BonnieR
10-30-2009, 01:06 PM
What are their reasons for encourging this? They have your best interests at heart, I'm sure. If the roles were reversed, what would you want THEM to do??
Ahdubose had some good suggestions.
l I often think of the old saying "At the end of my life, I am not going to be thinking 'I wish I spent more time at work'
Keep the faith.

chrisy
10-30-2009, 02:41 PM
Hi Angela,
I've wondered about this myself - and understand your not wanting to feel like you're admitting defeat. I looked at it that way as well at first.

Then I reframed it (as you are); how do I want to spend my life - independent of how long it may be. For me, for now, my decision is that I enjoy my work and chose to stay "in my life" pretty much as it was. There are days of course when I feel differently about it.