PDA

View Full Version : Here's the latest on TriciaK

TriciaK
10-26-2009, 10:13 PM
As many of you know, I have been fighting BC since 1985, starting with cancer in the right breast and suspicious tissue in the left. I underwent a bilateral mastectomy, did fine for 5 years, then it returned in t9 and t10 vertebras in 1990. A variety of treatments including tamoxifen led to a diagnosis 5 years later of "Healed metastatic breast cancer." I went on with my life and career, all but forgetting about BC, until a heart attack in 2004 and a triple bypass. I credit the heart attack with saving my life, for because of it we disovered BC was back, this time her2. Fifteen months on herceptin, including 6 on navelbine, and femara ever since has kept me NED up to 2009. My 6-months checkup and scan this July showed my tumor markers starting to rise again and a nodule was growing. My oncologist suggested monthly marker checks and another scan in 3 months, which was October 14. The good news is that although the markers are still rising, the latest scan showed that the lung nodule looks cancer-free and hasn't grown more. That is really good news and I am grateful!