PDA

View Full Version : yet another newbie on Tykerb/Xeloda

Verna
10-17-2007, 07:36 AM
Hi, I'm a newbie here. Diag. stage IV Nov. 2005, a/c,taxol,radiation,herceptin, zometa. Been on tykerb/xeloda for 6 months.
I've been taking the tykerb when I first wake up in the morning, then xeloda with breakfast and dinner. So far the diareah is tolerable, the only thing I don't like is the acne on my face I get from it. Anyone else had this?
Verna

SoCalGal
10-17-2007, 03:37 PM
Hi Verna,
Many people have the lovely skin side effects - my onc told me that the skin probs are all from the tykerb. They are considered "favorable" if you can imagine that! Please search through older posts and you will find many comments on skin care and remedies. I use tea tree oil slightly diluted to calm things down. Regular acne meds seemed to make things worse for me.
Good luck,
Flori

adrien
10-17-2007, 04:53 PM
Hello Verna,
I too have lovely whiteheads ( we used to call them when I was a teenager) and very dry skin (peeling) with a sore red rash. I've only been on Tykerb for 11 days and have started to apply a gel called Radiance gel that's a herbal preparation for use with radiotherapy treatment. It contains aloe vera, honey and Royal jelly as well as a blend of essential oils. This relieves the symptoms. Only time will tell really. It's available from www.pennybrohncancercare.org
formerly the Bristol Cancer care centre.
Good luck
Adrien

Gina
10-22-2007, 04:44 PM
Many years ago, when I first started taking Herceptin back in 99, I began to get this acne rash all over my face and upper chest. My onc assured me it was NOT from the Herceptin, but my nurses took my complaints seriously (I mean, being 33 with 13-year old acne was no fun) and they looked it up in the side effect chart and said that 2 per cent of folks on herceptin will develop and acneform like rash...sounds very similar to what you are describing.