PDA

View Full Version : For those on Herceptin indefinately

Sherryg683
09-18-2007, 06:16 AM
For those of you that are taking Herceptin indefinately, are you doing the every 3 weeks infusions or weekly. I have been doing the weekly now for almost 2 years. My oncologist asked me last time, it I still wanted to continue this or move to the 3 week infusions. I asked him what he thought and he said he could not give me a definate answer as to which was best but that he has seen a slight bit of difference in reoccurance in those that were on the 3 week schedule. I would like to be able to only go in every 3 weeks, but don't want to fix something that's not broken. I'm sort of superstitous about it. If I switched and then reoccured, I'd blame myself for changing. For those of you who are doing well with the Herceptin long term, what is your scheduling? I've got to make a decision...sherryg

Lee
09-18-2007, 08:11 AM
I'm going every 3 wks, and I've been NED for about 18 months now. My onc said that the research backs up that there is really no difference between every week and every 3 week infusions.

It is very nice not to have to show up there every week! Plus, they have my infusions down to just 1/2 hour, so on days when I'm not getting blood work or seeing my onc, I'm in and out of there pretty quickly.

best wishes on your decision

Sandy in Silicon Valley
09-18-2007, 08:35 AM
Hi, Sherry -

I've been on Herceptin for 4.5 years now, and will be on it until either my left ventricle ejaction fraction indicates weakening of an important heart muscle, due to a common Herceptin side effect, or until my oncologist and I come to believe that my bc mets have acquired resistence to the drug, and it appears no longer to be working.