PDA

View Full Version : 1 or 2 years

new shoes
09-06-2007, 09:29 AM
Hello from sunny CA. I am new to this so please forgive my mistakes.
I started Herceptin in Jan. 2007 and my onc stated that I would be on a 3 week treatment for 2 years. He then retired. My new onc says that I will be on the 3 week infusion for only 1 year. He said that there was liturature to support this. I have not been able to find anything that confirms this. Does anyone have any information regarding 1 vs. 2 years of Herceptin?

PinkGirl
09-06-2007, 09:38 AM
Hi New Shoes

That seems to be the standard. After surgery and chemo, there is one year of Herceptin - treatments are usually every 3 weeks. I began my herceptin with my last 4 chemo treatments (taxol) and then continued on with the herceptin alone. There are other combinations of herceptin and other drugs that are used for mets.

tousled1
09-06-2007, 12:30 PM
Jennifer,

The standard protocol for Herceptin is one year - either weekly or every 3 weeks. There was a study done that was to compare one year vs two years of Herceptin but the results have not been released.

nitewind
09-06-2007, 12:41 PM
I'm on the one year of Herceptin. I get it once a week, started it with my last three chemos, now I'm down to just the herceptin. I should finish up in December.
Hugs

Faith in Him
09-06-2007, 05:30 PM
I have some time left on herceptin also. My onc said one year is enough treatment. I would really like 2 years. I keep hoping he'll change his mind.

I would love to know the results of the study, Kate was referring to.

Linda
09-06-2007, 06:01 PM
My onc told me that if the two year study had been having beneficial results, that info would have been released by now -- the fact that results are not being publisized means that it's not showing a benefit. She also conferred with some docs who are involved in the studies and was told that 2 years was showing no extra benefit.