PDA

View Full Version : Had a great time tonight and now I'm sad

Faith in Him
08-18-2007, 11:35 PM
I am still learning about this disease. I have lived with it for only seven months and sometimes events take me by complete surprise. Like this evening. I am out with family at a wonderful restuarant, having a great time and life is great. Then I come home and it is a complete let down. I get depressed and sad wondering how many more wonderful times there will be. I wish I could live carefree again not doubting that I will have a long future to enjoy many, many more moments like this. I guess we all wish for that.

Just trying to come to terms with my new life

hutchibk
08-18-2007, 11:43 PM
I know all of us here completely understand and experience exactly what you describe... Just keep voicing it when you feel it, that way it won't weigh too heavy on you for very long. We all need to keep talking about it. We are here for you. It's the reality of our new lives...

Mary Anne in TX
08-19-2007, 04:54 AM
I totally relate to what you said! But after 20 months, I have found that I have a real advantage over life before! I really do know how precious the minutes are! I make more time for my grandkids and do the things that will give them good memories. I tell people I love them more often. I give more hugs. I make more phone calls to encourage people. I've given things away that encumbered my life! I'm getting free! As the news came that Dean might hit the Corpus area on the coast of Texas (we're just minutes away), I began to pack my "precious" belongings! We have our granddaughter so she was packing too! I drive a smallish car, and we got it all in...the precious things, I mean! My mom's bible, my grandmother's "Streams in the Desert" with all the family info, my great, great (lots of greats) granddaddy's Civil War Sword, my first bible, and of course some pictures. I was amazed at how little I really picked!