PDA

View Full Version : On Herceptin for more than a year - How and why?

Nora B.
05-16-2007, 12:00 PM
New to this site - it's been wonderful to discover the wealth of info and support here. I've been browsing around and noticed alot of you seem to still be on Herceptin after a year. I'm wondering why and how - did you have to talk your onc into it, is it just if you are Stage IV, etc. My onc, who's very conservative and by the book, took me off after a year saying there was no evidence any longer than a year would help. I'm Stage III, finished with a year of herceptin in April and am missing my security blanket!!

jmihay
05-16-2007, 12:53 PM
Herceptin more than one year

Hi Nora,
I just this week wrote and asked for people who had been on for more than 5 years and got 4 answers. I have been using it for 6 years. You don't say if this is for a new cancer or metastatic. Mine is metastatic and it was not until last June that I got a PET/CAT scan that was NED. Then my onc.gave me the choice to go on or not. I opted to continue as my heart tests have been fine these 6 years and I do not believe Herceptin CAUSES brain tumors, I think the cancer does, and the Herceptin cannot stop it because it cannot cross the brain barrier. This is only my opinion, I have not read it anywhere. My tumor blood tests have never shown an abnormal number even when the cancer was active so I cannot quit and rely on them. I used to play a lot of tennis where I learned not to change a winning strategy.

If your cancer is new, I have no advice as it hadn't been developed back when mine was new (1986). It was almost 15 years before mine metastasized and I am grateful for that as by then Herceptin was available.

Love and support,
Joan

Lolly
05-18-2007, 08:14 AM
Hi Nora, I was on Herceptin for over six years for Stage IV, and just last month stopped it and moved on to Tykerb. Most oncologists won't continue Herceptin indefinitely in earlier stage disease because it's an unknown.